Press release from the Ramon Magsaysay Awards Foundation

To learn more about the 2017 Ramon Magsaysay Awards Ceremonies, .

In early 1954, was appointed by President Ramon Magsaysay to act as personal emissary to , leader of the rebel group, . Also in 1954, Lt. Col. Laureño Maraña, the former head of Force X of the 16th PC Company, assumed command of the 7th BCT, which had become one of the most mobile striking forces of the Philippine ground forces against the Huks, from Colonel Valeriano. Force X employed psychological warfare through combat intelligence and infiltration that relied on secrecy in planning, training, and execution of attack. The lessons learned from Force X and Nenita were combined in the 7th BCT.

President Ramon F. Magsaysay was the first president who regularly wore the Barong Tagalog (national costume). He set an example of humility by insisting that he be called "Mr. President" and not "His Excellency". (Ryan A. Gragasin)

Ramon del Fierro Magsaysay Sr. (August 31, 1907 – March 17, 1957) was the seventh of the , serving from December 30, 1953 until his death in an . An automobile mechanic, Magsaysay was appointed military governor of Zambales after his outstanding service as a guerilla leader during the . He then served two terms as congressman for before being appointed as Secretary of National Defense by President . He was elected President under the banner of the .

President and Mrs. Ramon Magsaysay and Family (Courtesy of )

In consonance, Dr. Cornelio C. Garcia, RMTU president, has started embedding changes in almost all aspects of the university since his assumption to office on March 21, 2013. One of the transformations he has started doing is the move to rename RMTU to Pres. Ramon Magsaysay State University (PRMSU). The said metamorphosis is being made possible with the support of Cong. Cheryl P. Deloso-Montalla, Representative of the Second District of Zambales. The lady solon has introduced House Bill No. 3490 which seeks to rename RMTU into PRMSU and broaden it as a premier institution of higher learning in the province of Zambales and in the entire Central Luzon.

To learn more about the 2017 Ramon Magsaysay Awards Ceremonies, .

What To Write My Persuasive Essay About Ramon Magsaysay Essay. Menu. distinguish between altruism and prosocial behaviour essay. essay contest purple january.

Ramon Magsaysay Award, Right to Information Act, 2005

Dr. Harish Hande, a 2011 recipient of the Ramon Magsaysay Award, is an Indian social

Nileema Mishra, 29 is being recognized for her purpose-driven zeal to work tirelessly with villagers in Maharashtra, India, organizing them to successfully address both their aspirations and their adversities through collective action and heightened confidence in their potential to improve their own lives. Mishra has pledged to donate the entire prize money to her rural microcredit project.

The vision of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation is to continue to honour persons and organizations as exemplars of selfless leadership, whose lives and work make Asia truly a better place to live in.

The Magsaysay laureates, through their ideas and programs, exert strong individual and collective influence as a community of moral leaders who promote just, democratic and sustainable responses to the challenges of human development throughout the Asian region. Due to their development initiatives they are better known and more accessible to the public, and are increasingly supported by media and other relevant institutions within and outside Asia.

Thus, these laureates can be hailed as the silent and real heroes of their country as all are deeply involved in addressing issues that impact human progress not only in their respective countries, but indeed, in all of Asia. They set a perfect example how commitment, competence, and collaborative leadership can truly transform individual lives and galvanize community action.

Abdullah Abu Sayeed, Ramon Magsaysay Award, Bookmobile

Since 1958, 261 individuals and 16 organizations have been named Magsaysay awardees. Among them are some of Asia's great humanitarians, community leaders, intellectuals, and artists.

Today, the Ramon Magsaysay Award program is managed by the RMAF board of trustees composed of nine Filipinos serving staggered four-year terms. An appointed president oversees the full-time administration of the program. Annually, the RMAF solicits award nominations from a wide-ranging pool of international nominators.

Some of the prominent Indian personalities to receive the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay award are: Kiran Bedi, Baba Amte, Vinoba Bhave, Verghese Kurien, Arvind Kejriwal, R.K Laxman, C.D. Deshmukh and T.N. Seshan.

The year 2011 has been a twin glory for India as two Indians has been chosen for the coveted Ramon Magsaysay award.

Harish Hande, 44 is being recognized for his passionate and pragmatic efforts to put solar power technology in the hands of the poor, through a social enterprise that brings customized, affordable, and sustainable electricity to India's vast rural populace, encouraging the poor to become asset creators.

To commemorate the 105th birthday of President Ramon Magsaysay, I am reposting an essay I wrote when I was fourteen years old

With only few days left for the month of August to commence, Asia and the rest of the world are hooked to the region's annual pride- the Ramon Magsaysay award that annually felicitate the crop of men and women whose outstanding and selfless social work has brought a lasting impact and smile in the faces of their respective countrymen.

Hailed as the ‘Nobel Prize’ of Asia the Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramón Del Fierro Magsaysay’s example of integrity in government, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society.

Born on 1907, Magsaysay was the third president of the Republic of the Philippines after the Second World War. His life had a great impact not only on his countrymen but on many people in many lands. Magsaysay commanded the admiration, respect and affection of people as he was a simple, humble man who cared for all people and believed in their dignity and importance.

His sole objective of life was to improve the lot of his fellow Filipinos which he approached with selfless devotion. He believed that the government was solely meant to reflect the will of the people. He died on March 31, 1957 in a plane crash. An estimated 5 million people attended Magsaysay's burial and is popularly referred to by the people the "Idol of the Masses."

The same year of his death, the Ramon Magsaysay Award was created by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund based in New York City with the concurrence of the Philippine government. The Foundation has since implemented the Magsaysay Award program, pursuing the mission of "honoring greatness of spirit in selfless service to the peoples of Asia."

The Ramon Magsaysay award was established in April, 1957. This award was created to commemorate Ramon Magsaysay, the late president of Philippines.

ABUCAY, BATAAN – Technoscribe, the official student publication of Ramon Magsaysay Technological University (RMTU) – San Marcelino Campus reaped several group and individual awards in the concluded 10th ATSPAR Regional Tertiary Press Congress (RTPC) held at the Raven Resort here, Nov. 17 – 19.